Related Links

Corporate Governance

At Sherritt, we believe that sound corporate governance is critical to earning and retaining the trust of our shareholders.

Our governance practices reflect the vision and priorities that we promote as a company and are critical to improve overall company performanceincluding by promoting ethical behaviour and high-performance standards throughout the organization.

Board of Directors

Our Board is responsible for overseeing the management and conduct of the business in accordance with lawful and ethical standards. They provide guidance in the best interests of the Corporation and in doing so help us meet our corporate objectives.

Sherritt is in full compliance with governance best practices that call for the majority of directors to be independent and unrelated. Sherritt’s Board is composed of nine membersall of whom are unrelated and independent directors except for the President and Chief Executive Officerin adherence to the current TSX and OSC guidelines. The Chairman of the Board is an independent director and is responsible for leading and managing the Board in discharging its responsibilities.

The Board of Directors is responsible for overseeing the management of the business.

Board Committees

The Board executes its responsibilities through five committees:

Chairman of the Board:Hap Stephen –Effective May 23, 2013

Download Description
Audit Committee
  • R. Peter Gillin (Chair) –Effective May 23, 2013
  • Sir Richard Lapthorne
  • Lisa Pankratz
Audit Committee Mandate
Environment, Health, Safety and Sustainability
  • Tim Baker (Chair) – Effective May 12, 2015
  • Dee Marcoux
  • Lisa Pankratz
Environment, Health, Safety and Sustainability Mandate
Human Resources
  • Dee Marcoux (Chair) – Effective May 26, 2011
  • R.Peter Gillin
  • Adrian Loader
Human Resources Mandate
Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
  • Sir Richard Lapthorne (Chair) – Effective May 23, 2013
  • Tim Baker
  • R.Peter Gillin
  • Adrian Loader
  • Dee Marcoux
  • Lisa Pankratz
  • Hap Stephen
Nominating and Corporate Governance Mandate
Reserves Committee
  • Adrian Loader (Chair) – Effective May 12, 2015
  • Tim Baker
Reserves Committee Mandate